Turkey grants visa-free travel to six European countries

World Sergey Matyunin 20-Feb-2020
Turkey President Erdogan
ID 122058671 © Gints Ivuskans | Dreamstime.com

Turkey will allow citizens of five Schengen countries plus the U.K. to visit the country without a visa.

The visa exemption will be granted to Austria, Belgium, Netherlands, Spain, Poland and the U.K.

Visa-free touristic travel to Turkey from the said countries will begin in March and will be valid for 90 days in every 180 days of the visits, says the Turkey’s Ministry of Foreign Faairs.

“The aim of this step is to advance [Turkey’s] tourism potential with the said countries, as well as developing commercial, economic and cultural relations,” the ministry’s statement says.

Turkey has a complex visa policy. It requires visas from many EU and Schengen countries, but grants visa-free travel to some other.

A total of 78 countries, including European countries such as Germany, Spain, France, Sweden, Italy, Ireland, Switzerland and Finland, were granted visa exemption for touristic visits to Turkey.

In December 2013, Turkey and the EU agreed to sign the Readmission Agreement as part of the visa liberalization program for Turkish citizens. Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan repeatedly asked for the acceleration of the program but without much success.